Ed McMahon dies in LA at 86

I woke up this morning and read that Ed McMahon (of “Star Search” and “Tonight Show” fame) passed away. According to an anonymous person very close to the entertainer, he was suffering from bone cancer and various other illnesses. You can read more here.

I remember watching “Star Search” with my Grandma as a little girl. We used to watch “Golden Girls” and the weekly “T.G.I.F.” lineup together, too. I miss the good old days when family programming was commonplace. These days it’s hard to find television shows that are appropriate for kids let alone entertaining for adults. I’m sad to say goodbye to a television veteran who not only entertained us, but brought people of different generations (like my Grandma and me) together.

-nativejournalist

Leave a Reply

