Google (and the world) celebrates Michael Jackson’s birthday

Todays Google logo is a tribute to Michael Jackson
Today's Google logo is a tribute to Michael Jackson

The King of Pop is again remembered by what is decidedly the most well known search engine on the world wide web: Google.com! Google changed the double-Os in it’s name to an image of Michael Jackson’s feet with his famous sparkling white socks and black penny loafers

On a side note…Yesterday I had the chance to meet choreographer and director Kenny Ortega who was directing Michael Jackson’s “This Is It” concert, but is now directing the film with the same title as a tribute to the work and legacy of the King of Pop. I’ve heard there will also be some moments here and there in the film that show the softer, human side of Michael Jackson. (I hope I will get to see it in theatres!) Yesterday I also met Michael Jackson’s old personal assistant and assistant to Ortega since 2007, James Phares, who shared with me some very touching memories of Michael Jackson. He told me how thoughtful, sensitive, and loving he was with all those he came in contact with.
Read more about Kenny Ortega and his work at his website.

While I was never lucky enough to meet Michael Jackson, I have been a huge fan of his since I was a little girl. I used to dress up in this weird color-block outfit that was black on one side and white on the other and match my shoes and socks (and hairbands even!) and perform “Black or White” for my family in our living room. I loved that video because it was the only pop video I knew of that blended so many scenes from cultures from around the world (not just those representing “black” or “white”), including my own. Seeing Native Americans dancing in a music video (not to mention Michael Jackson’s music video!) made me feel as the only-Indian-girl-at-her-school-practically-her-whole-life, like my culture and I mattered. My people were not just worthy of respect, but we were cool, too! Michael Jackson has meant a lot to me throughout my life not just because he is the best performer to ever live, but because of where he stood with the human rights movement, bridging the gaps between so many different peoples, and continually poking holes through the racial glass ceiling. He will always be my hero and my inspiration to dare to dream the impossible. I love and miss you Michael…Happy Birthday!

Check out Michael Jackson’s website here.

I’ll leave you with what I think is one of Michael Jackson’s best videos!

Leave a Reply

