Editorial: Remembering Rosa Parks and Those Battling HIV/AIDS

Today marks two very important days. One is the 55th anniversary of the day black civil rights activist, Rosa Parks, refused to give up her seat to a white passenger. This act of courage propelled the black civil rights movement and many equal rights laws were passed because of it. The other is also very important – it’s World AIDS Day.

Remembering Rosa Parks

Rosa Parks (1913 – 2005) having her fingerprints taken after her arrest on 1st December, 1955.

Today I’m remembering Rosa Parks’ activism and dogged determination to make life better, not just for black Americans, but all people. Thank you for your sacrifices. When I feel like my life is difficult, I always think back to those who came before me and everything they had to endure. The fight is not over, though, and I promise to keep my commitment to make things better for the next seven generations.

World AIDS Day

December 1st is World AIDS Day (Photo courtesy of The Guardian)

In a similar vein, I’m also remembering the lives lost and the battles being won against HIV/AIDS. We have lost too many innocent people to this awful disease. We need more education, outreach and prevention. I am glad that so many celebrities are supporting efforts like the “Sacrifice Your Digital Life” campaign and bloggers, tweeters and social network users alike are changing their default photos to red ribbons. I just hope people will continue the activism in the coming year, starting first by getting tested. The best way to begin the health revolution to end the spread of HIV/AIDS is to use protection and get tested regularly because, as Mahatma Gandhi once said, “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”

And, as my very wise and eloquent Mother said today, “I hope this is the last World AIDS Day.”

-NativeJournalist

Leave a Reply

