Tell me a story: the Introduction

Why helloooooo there!  How nice of you to join me here at my Tow Knight Center for Entrepreneurial Journalism blog.

Allow me to introduce myself:

I am a Southern California native and member of the Chickahominy Tribe of Virginia.  I received my bachelor’s degree in Philosophy and Spanish from Mount Holyoke College. Before enrolling in the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, I created NativeJournalist.com, where I share stories on Indian Country. Last summer, I interned for the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network National News in Winnipeg, Canada, working as an on-air reporter, covering news related to the Aboriginal community. [You can watch some of the stories that aired on the nightly, national broadcast here.]  This semester, I’m looking forward to launching a multimedia news site that features arts, culture, and news that matters for Indigenous youth of the United States and Canada with what I learn from the EJ program.

Last December, I was one of several CUNY J-School Entrepreneurial Journalism students who pitched their business idea to a jury and won a seed grant.  My project (currently called Achimó), earned $5,000.  [Achimó means “tell me a story” in Cree.]  I am so excited to make this dream of mine a reality!

Here’s a snippet of how the “Pitch Day” went:

While working for APTN in Winnipeg, Canada, I met countless Aboriginal artists and creative minds who lacked a platform to share their talents.  And, I became very aware of the dire situation Indigenous youth face in Canada that reminded me of the struggles many Native youth in the US also grapple with.  Aside from numerous health concerns like diabetes and heart disease, Indigenous youth (in North America and beyond) face the highest rates of depression and suicide.  I decided to create a platform for sharing Indigenous-made artistic, inspiring, culturally relevant content with a young population in need.  I hope my site will allow Indigenous youth to express themselves creatively and allow them to share their stories, while experiencing content created by members of the Indigenous community living in other areas.  And eventually, I would love it if educators began incorporating the site in their curriculum!

To follow my journey this semester, sign up to receive updates!

Kind regards,

Amy Stretten

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

