Anderson Cooper is my hero.

Anderson Cooper

PORT AU PRINCE, HAITI – I’ve taken a break from blogging while I work on my graduate school applications. I am just about done (finally!) and I plan to be back very soon! I wasn’t planning on posting anything until I was ready for my official return, but after seeing the following video I just couldn’t help myself. I love to write and I have missed it over the past couple of months, but the reason I felt so compelled to post a blog was to share this incredible video with you. It is because of journalists like Anderson Cooper that I have chosen to become a journalist. It is because of exceptional stories that need to be shared with the world that I blog. I want to change the world and make a difference in the lives of others. Journalists like Cooper are doing just that. If you’d like a simple reason as to why Anderson Cooper is my hero, please just check out the video below. Sometimes journalists who cover tragedies become numb to violence, suffering, and death and forget that the people they are filming are just that – people – not simply a news story. Anderson Cooper talks about this in his book Dispatches from the Edge : A Memoir of War, Disasters, and Survival. If you have yet to read his novel, I strongly suggest you do. It changed my life (as trite as that may sound). In the video below Cooper shows that he is not just a journalist, but a person – a person who really cares and wants to make a difference…and is.

Right now the people of Haiti are suffering and I wish there were some profound way that I could help. I’m afraid all I can do (or have been able to come up with) is to donate to various organizations working to directly help the Haitian people. I wish I were as courageous as Anderson Cooper (and had the honor of working for such an incredible news organization such as CNN!) and could be on the frontlines filming what is going on so that people back at home and around the world will be compelled to do something, too…even if it’s to simply donate money to the Red Cross, for example.

Please note that the video below is very disturbing and contains strong violence, but illustrates how badly Haiti needs our support…and that there are some journalists who are not afraid to risk their own lives to help others.

I will be keeping the people of Haiti in my thoughts and prayers. I hope you will do the same.

-NativeJournalist

Leave a Reply

